Skip to main content

Organisation of the University

The University is governed primarily via the Council and the Senate, which are supported by various committees within the different services and colleges. On this site you can find details about the University's governance structure and decision-making processes and also find more information about the work of Council and other University committees.


  • Her Majesty the Queen

Independent (Non-Executive) Officers

  • Sir Michael Barber 
    The Chancellor is the chief ceremonial officer of the University and presides over occasions such as degree ceremonies.
  • Quentin Woodley (Chair of Council) 
    The Chair of Council is the senior Independent (non-executive) officer of the University and is responsible for ensuring the effectiveness of the strategic, financial and physical management of the University.
  • Sarah Buck OBE 
    Sir Richard Atkins

University Executive Board

  • Professor Lisa Roberts
    The Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive is the chief academic and executive officer of the University and is supported by the Provost and three Deputy Vice-Chancellors. The Deputy Vice Chancellors contribute to the Senior Management Blog.
  • Professor Janice Kay, BA Newc PhD Cantab AFBPsS
  • Mike Shore-Nye
    Registrar and Secretary
  • Professor Tim Quine
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)
  • Professor Mark Goodwin 
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)
  • Professor Neil Gow, FRS
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Impact)
  • Professor Richard Smith, BA MSc PhD
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategy Integration and Resources)
  • Professor Martin Siegart (wef 1 November 2022)
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Cornwall)
  • Professor Dan Charman
    Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean (Faculty of Environment, Science and Economy)
  • Professor Sallie Lamb
    Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean (Faculty of Health and Life Sciences)
  • Professor Gareth Stansfield
    Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean (Faculty of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences) 
  • Andrew Connolly 
    Chief Financial Officer and Executive Divisional Director of Finance, Infrastructure and Commercial Services
  • Jane Chafer
    Executive Divisional Director of External Engagement and Global
  • Imelda Rogers
    Executive Divisional Director of Human Resources
  • Linda Peka
    Deputy Registrar and Executive Divisional Director of Education and Academic Services
  • Ash Roots
    Chief Digital Officer